IPL 2018 : SRH thrash RR by 9 Wickets

Spread the love

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Rajasthan Royals convincingly by 9 wickets in Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to field first. Foreign players for SRH included Captain Kane Williamson,Billy Stanlake,Shakib Al Hasan and Rashid Khan. RR played with D’Arcy Short,Jos Butler,Ben Stokes and Ben Laughlin as their foreign players.

RR’s innings never got going and they lost wickets at regular intervals. Notable contribution came from Sanju Samson, who was the only stand out batsman scoring 49 runs off 42 balls. Shakib and Kaul picked 2 wickets each for SRH. RR ended their innings at 125/9 in 20 overs.

Chasing a victory target of 126, SRH lost Saha(5) early as he got dismissed by Unadkat when the score was 6 in the 2nd over. Shikhar Dhawan had a lucky escape when he was dropped on 0 by captain Rahane in the very first over which proved very costly. Dhawan never looked from thereon and played aggressively. SRH reached 50 in the 6th over. Shikhar Dhawan made the visitors pay for the missed chance by smashing 77* runs off 57 balls, which proved to be vital contribution for his team’s victory. Captain Williamson scored 36* 0ff 35 balls. Dhawan and Williamson pair added 121 runs for the 2nd wicket and ensured a comfortable 9 wickets win for SRH.

Shikhar Dhawan was adjudged Man of the Match.



  • S Samson 49 (42)
  • S Gopal 18 (18)
  • S Kaul 2/17(4)
  • Shakib 2/23(4)


  • S Dhawan 77* (57)
  • K Williamson 36* (35)
  • J Unadkat 1/28(3)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *