IPL 2018 : CSK wins thriller against KKR

Spread the love

Chennai Super Kings has yet again won a nerve biting encounter but this time against Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai.

Sam Billings played a stellar knock of 56 runs to guide Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to a 5-wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders.

MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to field first. Chennai included Shane Watson, Sam Billings, Dwayne Bravo and Imran Tahir as their 4 foreign players while Kolkata had Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Andrew Russell and Tom Curran as their foreign players.

Andre Russell’s unbeaten 88 took Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to 202/6 in 20 overs against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in their Indian Premier League (IPL) clash on Tuesday. After a slow start, Russell went on the demolition mode, hitting 11 sixes in the process. He spared no Chennai bowler as he hammered them equally all over the park. Every six of his silenced the home crowd. Robin Uthappa (29) and captain Dinesh Karthik (26) chipped with decent contributions helping their team reach a 200+ score. Chennai skipper used seven bowlers as they were getting hit for boundaries quite often. Shane Watson returned with bowling figures of 2/39 while Harbhajan Singh (1/11), Ravindra Jadeja (1/19) and Shardul Thakur (1/37) shared a wicket each between them. The batting side kept losing wickets at regular intervals but the batsmen ensured they kept the run-rate going.

Chasing a mammoth total of 202, Billings showed his batting prowess after hitting 5 sixes and 2 fours helping his team cross the finishing line. Shane Watson (42) and Ambati Rayudu (39) gave the hosts a perfect start in their run-chase. Chennai were cruising before losing Watson in the 6th over with 75 runs on the board. Rayadu followed suit after Watson’s dismissal. Kolkata took control in the middle overs after which MS Dhoni (25) built on a partnership with Billings. Jadeja and Bravo took control of the game in the final moments and won it for Chennai.

Sam Billings was adjudged Man of the match.



  • A Russell 88* (36)
  • R Uthappa 29 (16)
  • S Watson 2/39(2)
  • H Singh 1/11(2)


  • S Billings 56 (23)
  • S Watson 52 (19)
  • T Curran 2/39(3)
  • S Narine 1/17(4)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *